17
Dec
08

December 17th | Christmas Parties

sweaters

I will be the first to admit. I am a total sucker for Christmas. I love everything about it! Think about it… there is literally no other time that can mimic anything that we experience during Christmas. Family makes a huge effort to fly home to Vancouver (okay, Vancouver is nice, but not that nice to fly down anytime), I find that people are generally more festive, and the cold weather causes us to snuggle up in front of the fire!

Ah Christmas time. For me, I can literally put a log in the fire when the sun goes down, make some old fashion hot chocolate, curl up on the couch, and listen to Charlie Brown’s Christmas CD (on repeat and random), until I want to go to bed. I find it totally soothing, serene and even nostalgic. I was blessed to have fantastic Christmas’ growing up as a kid, and I don’t want to stop that tradition with my little ones (some day). 

One thing special for us year after year is the reason why we celebrate Christmas. I’m not beating around the bush for this one and there is no need for me to be politically correct (because it’s true!). Danelle and I celebrate because our Saviour was born during this season. I’m not saying it’s wrong to not celebrate it that way – we just love focusing on that instead of the busyness of finding that perfect present, being inundated with groceries for get togethers, or finding a good present under $15 for gift exchanges. It’s like celebrating a birthday party when the celebrant is not there to attend 😛 Christmas is soooo awesome!!!!

This year Danelle and I have opened up our home for our first Christmas Party with friends! Check out our theme: Ugly Christmas Sweaters! It is going to be classic. I am going to try and find my dad’s old Christmas sweater (the one he used to rock in the 70’s). It was an XL light green wool turtle neck. It shed as if it were an animal during the summer. It had a montage of skiiers and a dogsled going past an igloo at the bottom, and repeated on the back. Classic! 

We’re going to be putting on some classic tunes and even go right to a “it’s an N’sync Christmas!” Of course there’s going to be some fabulous food and great company. But I am looking forward to watching some classic moments in Christmas history when everyone is here. Such as: How the grinch stole Christmas, Elf (with Will Farrell), and Saved by the Bell Christmas!! Ah!!! 

Shoot us an email  or leave a comment – what other things can we do for this party? Also, any other amazing Christmas movie moments you can think of?

Christmas Parties… Rock On!

</ral>

PS. Wanted to leave you with this video… ah Christmas!

0 Responses to “December 17th | Christmas Parties”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

